Profile

hawkida: (Default)
Max Harden

March 2025

S M T W T F S
      1
23456 78
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags

Rasseff

May. 9th, 2002 11:15 pm
hawkida: (Default)
The thread drift of rec.arts.sf.fandom never ceases to amaze me. Within 7 posts of [livejournal.com profile] bohemiancoast's comments on DFC the discussion has turned to the mating of bald eagles.
hawkida: (Default)
Banana is a little too bland to go on a pizza, but by no means unpleasant. And tomorrow I get to eat the other half.
hawkida: (Default)
It's been ages since I had a home delivery pizza. I did stare jealously at other people's at the hotel at the weekend. But all that is about to change in 45 minutes when my nice 12" hawaiin is delivered. First time I've ever seen banana on a pizza, though...
hawkida: (Default)
They told us we're back in the resource pool. Probably for around three weeks. Once again I officially have nothing to do instead of unofficially having nothing to do whilst officially I am working on non existant bugs in the code we already fixed.

So lots more LiveJournal for me, then.

I'm awake

May. 9th, 2002 09:14 am
hawkida: (Default)
I feel much better now. I went to bed at 11.30 and got up at 6.30. I know it's only 7 hours but that's good, for me. Getting up at 6.30 on a weekday is a lie in as far as I'm concerned.

I still got into work before 90% of the rest of 'em as well. And I get out early tonight because of this wine tasting and meal thing which I'm thinking more and more of just skipping. I wouldn't mind the meal but it's the hassle of getting to it and getting back home and I didn't set the VCR tonight. As for the wine tasting, I only signed up to go to that when it got to the last chance to make the decision and everyone was saying "Go on, it'll be a laugh." Well, maybe it will for those who drink the wine, but that's not going to be me. And no matter how much fun it is I am positive it's not going to live up to the fun of last weekend. So I might just disappear when everyone goes over to Vinopolis (however it's spelt).

It looks like I might have to get used to having a social life as well - got home to find the diary details of the Peterborough SF group last night, I'm planning for the Hampshire gang to come over one weekend, I've got a holiday to plan and I'm having vague thoughts about a house warming. It's all go and I'm enjoying it.

We have a meeting this morning to find out what project we're on next and when it begins. This may yet kill my good mood. Updates later.

Zzzz

May. 8th, 2002 01:38 pm
hawkida: (Default)
Time for Ang to look smug. She said all the non-sleeping would catch up with me. I estimate I've had about an average of 4 hours per night since last Thursday. And it just hit me. Very suddenly. I'm now struggling to keep my eyes open and the emergency Pepsi Max isn't working. Maybe that window I just opened will help a bit. It may yet come down to me going home with a fake headache.

Damn Fine

May. 6th, 2002 10:43 pm
hawkida: (Default)
What a bloody excellent weekend. Novacon was great, Corflu was better. Damn Fine has outdone Corflu.

I'm knackered. Not nearly so much as I should be considering the number of hours I've slept, but enough that there's no time for proper updates now. More later...

Well, duh

May. 5th, 2002 12:09 pm
hawkida: (Default)
After running up the phonebill on our room at the stupid rate of something like 37p a minute to grab email a couple of times, someone points out the data ports on the sofas in the bar. Some investigation later, here I am. Alison Scott [livejournal.com profile] bohemiancoast has the documentary evidence and dubs it "The Dr Plokta Memorial Sofa".

And the exciting emails? Three live journal comments, something like ten items of mailing list email and approximately 25 items of spam.

Posts in rasseff: 4,564

Hmm...

Waaaah!

May. 3rd, 2002 01:07 am
hawkida: (Default)
Buffy didn't record! Well, it did, but there's no sound!

And I can't figure out quite why. Damnit! Well that's two hours gained, anyway...

UPDATE:

What the... It seems to be related to the tape. But in a really odd way. If I set the VCR to record then it comes on, records as directed, but doesn't get the sound. If I press the record button it records with no problem. If I switch to a different tape then I can get sound by direct recording or by pre-set recording.

I can understand the tape being dodgy. I can understand there being a problem with pre-setting the VCR if there's something wrong with the machine. But the two combined to cause the problem? How does that work?!

And why did Buffy have to be sacrificed to the discovery? Grr.

WORK?!

May. 2nd, 2002 04:00 pm
hawkida: (Default)
They just found work for me! They're trying to make me work! I'm about to leave the office after a week of nothing to do and they want me to fix something! I'm running away NOW.
hawkida: (Default)
Only 25 minutes until I'm allowed to leave. A very slow 25 minutes.

And since half my friends list seems to be awake and active I expect I'm going to have a good number of comments to plough through when I get back to the computer. And then there's the 3500 posts sitting unread in rec.arts.sf.fandom.

As Trinker once said on the group:

4000 rasseff posts in the queue
4000 rasseff posts
open one up, post a reply
4300 rasseff posts in the queue...

(though 4003 would scan better and be more accurate).
hawkida: (Default)
I really should be thinking through what I want to take with me to Damn Fine, and what needs preparation and what the plan for tomorrow is and what... ah, soddit. It can be a last minute rush. My brain doesn't work very well these days.

But the important question is, do I stay up REALLY late to watch Buffy tonight, or get up early to see it in the morning? (Assuming my powers of VCR setting are intact.)

Invitation

May. 1st, 2002 03:48 pm
hawkida: (Default)
You are cordially invited to a service of The Cult of LiveJournal this coming weekend at Damn Fine Con.

Venue: Max and Ang's room

Time: To Be Announced

We will begin by reciting the the Credo in LJ, we will drink, we will baptise an Anonymous Claire into the fold. Laptop and creed print outs will be provided but you are required to bring your own drinks and/or chocolate. A collection will be taken and proceeds will be donated to TAFF.

(If this is making little sense you may wish to read this

Famous

May. 1st, 2002 11:21 am
hawkida: (Default)
I've got a credit on a newly released single! Well, sort of. The credit is actually "The Perlies" but I am one of The Perlies.

K-Line, "In the red". Out now, or shortly. Paul (colleague, friend and Buffy watcher*) is playing bass.

*Go on then, make the inevitable 'watcher'comments.
hawkida: (Default)
It's really odd watching your different sets of friends spontaneously have a chat with one another in various comments sections. If only we were all shaking hands we'd be doing wonders for our 6 Degrees connections.

Grr (arg)

May. 1st, 2002 12:06 am
hawkida: (Default)
I just spent nearly two hours working out what was wrong with my VCR and why all it would record was snow. Turns out when I put the entertainment unit in place I wired stuff back up a bit wrong. But I had to sort it out cos I had to figure out how to record things cos I have to make sure I get Buffy and Angel while I'm out on Thursday. There are priorities in my life, see. Sleep figures kinda low on that list.

But it's sorted now and I sort of almost got the place tidy, nearly.

Hey, just in case - everyone out there tape Buffy (and Angel) for me so when my recording fails I've got backup ("Anya, Tara" "Don't give me songs...") Ahem. Yes.

I need to sleep now.
hawkida: (Default)
There has been some concerning talk of moving the e-commerce side of work out to Tunbridge Wells. Today, though, they asked me whether I'd be willing to do a project in Peterborough. Well duh! So it's looking likely that I might get to avoid the commute for the duration of one project at least. It also has the advantage of giving me new (and marketable!) skills. It would be weird to work in a new team and things are stricter outside of our London site so my free daytime net access would be pretty much cut off but to actually have some work on would be a relief. Only trouble is the follow up project is set to happen in Tunbridge Wells. Hello secondment. Hello life out of a hotel. Ugh. But if I go along with this maybe it will lead to better things. Time will tell...
hawkida: (Default)
I didn't bother to tidy up last night. I couldnt' be bothered. I will hopefully manage it tonight so [livejournal.com profile] ang_grrr doesn't have to pick her way through plastic bags and piles of cardboard when she comes down on Wednesday night. I wasn't up to it after getting annoyed by the trains being late. (Oh yes, it's started. However, it was quite amusing to listen to the people at Kings Cross mutter about how this was the second time in a fortnight that this was going on and how dire the service is. They know not the horrors of commuting through Waterloo...) This was followed by having to try to cycle against the wind and fight the dustbin to get as much debris as possible into it.

Instead of tidying, last night, I took a nice long warm shower then sat down and rested. Got a couple of overdue emails out of the way, played a game of Literati, then went to bed. I was all nicely relaxed and things were going well until I woke up from a nightmare about the house burning down because I left the other oven on. I don't have another over, particularly not one in the garden where the dream said it was.

I think I got too hot while sleeping. I always have nightmares when that happens. So once again, I'm not as rested as I should be but I'm definitely more relaxed than I was last week.

As soon as the oh-god-I-haven't-packed-for-the-weekend panic starts to set in that should change, though.

Stupid

Apr. 29th, 2002 02:05 pm
hawkida: (Default)
Sometimes I get a favourite word and can't let go of it. Currently it is "stupid". Stupid hammer. Stupid feet. Stupid rainstorm waking me up at 4am. Stupid flatpack furniture. Stupid bathtap. Stupid noisy dog next door.

See what I mean? They say that swearing implies a limited vocabulary. (Bollocks, say I.) I wonder what they'd make of this.

Stupid theory.

Apathy

Apr. 29th, 2002 01:56 pm
hawkida: (Default)
Michael just messaged me "Help! Apathy!"

And, yeah, that about sums up the working day.

I'm tired today. Probably the combination of hard bed building and being woken by stormy weather at 4am.
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 12:00 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios