Profile

hawkida: (Default)
Max Harden

March 2025

S M T W T F S
      1
23456 78
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags

Pic

Feb. 10th, 2002 04:00 pm
hawkida: (Default)
So try telling me THIS picture is "cute". I won't believe you.

There's this thing about my neutral expression - it looks miserable. Unless I'm actually amused by something I tend to look extremely pissed off. And that leads people to tell me to cheer up or offer the "it might never happen" type platitudes. And you know what? That REALLY pisses me off.
hawkida: (Default)
I was on IRC while I did the Tesco shop this week and it occurred to me that since I would be out when the shopping was delivered it might be fun to add something bizarre to the list for them to puzzle over. I was thinking of something like a coloured lightbulb that wouldn't fit any of our lights but I threw the question open to the IRC audience.

"A pregnancy testing kit!" suggested Ang. Now, this was an interesting proposal but I didn't want to freak them out QUITE that much, so it was dismissed. Even though Ang was very insistant. "I'll cover the cost, do it! Video the reactions!"

_jamez_, meanwhile, came up with the idea of dog food. At least, I think he was first with it. The same shout came from a few corners in the end, among some less than impressive suggestions. So I did it. In the midst of our shopping was a small tub of dog food. In case you're not following this story well, let me enlighten you: We have no dog. We have never had a dog. We have no plans to get a dog.

So I come home and only Raz is still up. Does he say anything? Nope. I glance around the kitchen and find the bits and pieces they haven't put away, probably because they're not sure where they go. The fridge is fairly well stocked. No sign of the meat, presumably it's all in the freezer. Some rolls are on the side, maybe some should go to the freezer, but this can wait.

And there on the side is the dog food.

I wander upstairs and Raz is playing loud music and computer games (he's got a penchant for Wizardry right now).

"Did the shopping get sorted okay?"

He tells me they didn't know whether to freeze the bread rolls or not. Then he shuts up. I offer another opportunity to introduce the dog food question.

"Did they substitute much?"

"I didn't look at the list, I don't know."

It goes quiet. I read my email. And then I crack and admit that I'm highly disappointed that he didn't even MENTION the dog food. What sort of a reaction is that?! So I told him why it was there and he said "Yeah, we did wonder." And that was it.

Maybe I shoulda gone with Ang's plan.
hawkida: (Default)
So I was at the Ton last night and Mark says to me "You're drinking water? You have to bear in mind you'll be drinking with Nic this time next week, you should probably get in practise."

Now logic says that I complied and that's why I woke up feeling cruddy, right? Well, it's not true. I actually had three drinks of Smirnoff Ice and two drinks of water. I mean, what kind of wimp am I?!

But maybe it wasn't a hangover. It could just be lack of sleep. I mean, 4.5 hours is a little on the low side, isn't it? I think _jamez_ (note to self, read up on how to link other people properly) must be doing all my sleeping for me. I'm certainly not keeping up with it.

I should probably get an early night tonight since I'm out tomorrow (Picocon). It also turns out that I won't be flying alone when I go to Corflu next week as Mark and Claire are on the same flight. Very handy - especially since it means we can share a taxi at the other end and forego the arranging of the shuttle bus trip that would have otherwise been the cheaper alternative.

So, I should sleep tonight, get social Saturday, do the washing and some packing on Sunday, then back to work on Monday. And also an eye test. I should probably try not to be tired as my vision seems to suffer when my eyes are dry from lack of sleep.

Nothing in particular planned for the evenings, then Thursday I get to introduce jetlag into the equasion. Yay, or not, as the case may be.
hawkida: (Default)
Eugh, I think I'm hungover.

Sun!

Feb. 6th, 2002 10:19 pm
hawkida: (Default)
The sun came out today in Fleet. After about a week or two of seemingly solid rain. It was dry in London a lot of the time, but every morning and every evening Fleet has been wet and dreary. Sometimes the rain would stop, but not long enough for the ground to dry.

Today I saw the sky again at last. I could even appreciate the view of the train station, one of my least favourite places, with the sun down low early in the morning across the pond.

With the brightness and dry ground came cold. But I didn't mind that - it makes walking a lot more pleasant when you can walk at a decent speed and not wind up all sweaty and uncomfortable.

I bet it rains again tomorrow.
hawkida: (Default)
Well I suppose I'd better go to work then.
hawkida: (Default)
Why don't I get ill like everyone else? They feel crap, display symptoms, then they get better.

Me? I just feel exhausted and tired for weeks on end instead.

So I didn't go to work today. I ached and I just couldn't summon the energy to leave the house this morning. Slept most of the day instead. Hopefully tomorrow will be an improvement.
hawkida: (Default)
Saturday seemed to be an extremely long day. It didn't help that I wanted a lie in and forgot to set the alarm to "off" so I was up from 8am. It also didn't help that I spent most of the day rearranging clothes on radiators to try to dry them. I'm never going to let the washing back up for 3 weeks again.

Until next time.

Karen and Ruddy came over on the evening and we tried in vain to find something worth watching on TV. The original plan was to go see Vanilla Sky but somehow it never happened. When they put on the PS2 I retreated and went to bed feeling exhausted. Crazy, really, since I grabbed a couple of hours during the day and it was only midnight.

I think maybe the cold that everyone at work is carrying around is catching up with me. I don't have cold symptoms, really, except a slightly blocked nose. But I am feeling tired a lot and woke up aching a bit this morning. Maybe a day off work is in order. We'll see.

The plan for today is to read the reams and reams of legal stuff from the solicitor and see if I'm meant to sign anything from the pile... And then out to the pub for dinner. I haven't cooked in days and I'm not complaining.
hawkida: (Default)
I've just been sorting out some washing. It turns out I now have nearly as many non-black clothes as I do black clothes. And all because work won't let us dress completely casually any more. Well, I'm claiming grey as an honorary black.

More concerning, though, I now have clothes that need to see an iron somewhere between the washing and wearing stage. Gah.
hawkida: (Default)
Does EVERYONE have a secret livejournal they're not telling me about?

Entries

Jan. 31st, 2002 11:05 am
hawkida: (Default)
A bunch of entries probably look like they just appeared from nowhere. Truth be told, they were on my own web site all along but I got tired of trying to update livejournal while it went through a phase of falling over every five minutes. However, with the arrival of Ang on the site and the discovery that Robros has been hiding out here too I thought I'd catch up again and fill in the blanks over here.
hawkida: (Default)
The trains this morning were a joke, once again. It's a non-strike day which means that although there are multiple trains you have bugger all idea when they're likely to turn up. But I've done this rant before and you don't need the details so I'm keeping largely schtum.

Zzzz

Jan. 29th, 2002 11:02 am
hawkida: (Default)
Nothing's happening. I'm bored.

Tired

Jan. 21st, 2002 11:02 am
hawkida: (Default)
It's been a busy day. Deadline at work, stuff to do online on the night, continuing mortgage sorting. And then the highly important Dark Angel viewing tonight. (Although series 2 just isn't coming off as well as series 1 did.)

I've upped my walking quota. Weekdays I spend around 1.5 hours walking. 15 minutes at each end of the day to and from the station, plus 30 minutes or so from Waterloo to work. My legs are protesting a little but they'll get used to it. Probably.

Consequently I'm knackered and signing off.
hawkida: (Default)
It's been a long week, somehow. Perhaps because I was so busy last weekend. The mortgage is progressing - slowly but surely. I have documentation that says I've bought the place subject to contract. I have cheques going out to a solicitor and I have a bank that can't input my details because their computer systems are down. First an engineer cut a line he shouldn't have and closed down the whole branch, then when that came back up the mortgage part of the system refused to take any input from all the London branches.

I don't think it matters too much though - the sellers have to move themselves and I've no idea how well they're progressing with finding somewhere to live or what sort of chain arrangement we're going to wind up locked into. I'm not in a rush though as the longer I stay here the more money I build up for furnishing the new place.

Work... no, I don't wanna talk about it.

An Update

Jan. 15th, 2002 11:00 am
hawkida: (Default)
Everyone should have a public diary. It saves all the hassle of emailing. Ahem.

Of course, it helps to have something to say as well. No further information on solicitors - the Estate Agents got a quote for me and I asked for it in writing, hoping it would arrive this morning, but no. The next appointment for the Mortgage process is Thursday when I sign and pay for things - by which time I ought to have details of my solicitor, so if nothing comes tomorrow I'll have to get on the phone.
hawkida: (Default)
We just received an email informing us of the following: The business readiness meeting that was planned for this Thursday has now been cancelled. Well, it gave us something to laugh about for a while, anyway.

Meanwhile, I upped the offer I'd made on the house in Peterborough and had it accepted. I went into Halifax this morning (the bank, not the town) and initiated the mortgage application. I'll be finishing this off on Thursday and handing over the first of the vast sums of money you have to part with in order to buy a house. This, of course, is assuming that Egg do their stuff. They're not the fastest company I know for transferring funds, but they've said three to four working days for it to hit my current account. Meanwhile, of course, I lose the savings interest and they gain it but what can you do? I'm also looking into solicitors - or rather, a solicitor. The estate agency recommended them as they do a lot of work with this particular firm. It's a no-sale, no-fee set up and given that I don't have any alternative recommendations I reckon I'll be going with them. It's odd, though, I thought the whole thing would be more nerve wracking than this. Mostly I'm just feeling a vague interest in things and wondering how long it's all going to take. Plenty of time, yet, for things to go wrong, though.

Waaah!

Jan. 13th, 2002 10:59 am
hawkida: (Default)
Someone's trying to steal my house! The offer I put in yesterday was at the asking price. Someone, through another agency, has put in a higher bid. I've just upped what I'm prepared to offer but I'm thinking carefully about how much further I can take my bid. The most annoying thing is that yesterday I was told that upon hearing my offer the house would be taken off the market. It's the classic tale, really. It's what the word "gazumping" was coined to describe. I should have expected it to be more difficult than finding a place on the first attempt.

But, but, but... *sigh*.
hawkida: (Default)
I'm buying a house. I must have turned into a grown up while I wasn't looking. It's kind of scary.

I trecked out to Peterborough today, looked around the city some, found the Estate Agent Corner (why DO they always appear in clusters?) and got down to business. I registered with one agency that dithered and muttered and is meant to get back to me on Monday about seeing places next weekend.

Then I went to the only one that actually sent me info about the properties I saw on their web site. They were much more enthusiastic and I got to see three places today. The first was bloody awful and worried me. Is this all I can afford? I was wondering. There was no way I was going to show an interest in it - there was damp, it was in real need of decorating, the kitchen smelt of curry and the doors didn't fit into the frames properly.

My hopes weren't high after this, but I was given directions to a place around 20 minutes out of the city (20 minutes if you don't go in the wrong direction halfway there...) and I was shown around by the current owner. It is a little far from the train station, and the outside doesn't look great but the inside was brilliant. Great kitchen and dining area. Three bedrooms, a little on the small side, but perfectly adequate. Cosy living room. Nice small garden with a shed. Extremely well maintained throughout (uh-oh, been spending too much time listening to estate agents!). Suffice to say, I came away wanting it. Especially given the history - it was on the market and sold before Christmas but the buyers messed the owner around leading him to lose his potential property that was next along the chain. He brought down the price for the second attempt and it took it to just below the point where stamp duty kicks in.

Back at the estate agents' office we took a trip to property number three. Another guy in the place was really keen on this place, told us how we'd need to be quick on this as there was lots of interest and it was marvellously redecorated and ... etc etc ... So we went to check it out, me and Mr Estate Agent. The layout of the place was a bit weird, like the first one. The stairs are ultra steep and at the top there is a bedroom to the left and to the right. Going through the one to the left brings you to another bedroom. Who wants people traipsing through their room every night?! And the bathroom is downstairs and off the kitchen which I'm not too keen on. But despite being freshly decorated and newly carpeted, this place has some pretty nasty damp problems as well. At this was going for the same price as the really good house.

We got back to the office and I made a snap decision. Either Nice House is underpriced, or Nasty House and Okay House With Problems are overpriced. But the price is something I can afford, I can put up with (make use of, even) the walking distance as it's all healthy exercise and by putting in an offer I save the hassle of wandering through to Peterborough every weekend for the foreseeable future. So I did it. Made an offer, had it accepted, and Monday I get to do the scary solicitor stuff and start to work out all the finances.

I'm buying a house. A real one with walls and bedrooms and everything. Eep. Wish me luck!
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 09:19 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios